I just finished my second week of my first online class through IWU yesterday.  The first week went just fine, but the second week I didn’t allow myself enough time for my final assignment.  It was a paper on biblical word studies, and let me tell you, that is a time-intensive process!  I got it in with zero minutes to spare, but didn’t have time to include one of my sources.

The old me would have freaked out that there was such an obvious error in my assignment.  The new me says, “Do what you’re able to, and let go of the rest.  Don’t dwell on it.”  With all that’s going on in my life right now, I’ve finally come to realize that I do indeed have limits.  Perfection in any area of my life is not an option.  That’s an awfully hard thing for a perfectionist to admit.  God is slowly breaking me of the perfectionist mindset.

So…I’ve learned my lesson.  Get my reading done earlier in the week so I can have the online discussions out of the way and focus on my papers instead.  I need to pace myself so that I have enough time to get all my work done, but not knock myself out in the process.  It’s a precarious balance that I’m still fine-tuning.

I did get full points on my first two assignments, so that helps motivate me to keep going.  Any little thing that helps!

About daisyraytheclown

I'm mom to five energetic kids who keep me hopping all day long.

Leave a Reply

