One of my main hopes for this blog, once we have actually settled into an inner city neighborhood, is to use it as a tool to spread awareness.  This awareness could encompass many things (I certainly hope that it does), such as living conditions, crime rates, general community statistics, personal stories, and the everyday difficulties and victories of life in the inner city.

I want to share the things I learn and observe, but also use this as a platform to share other peoples’ thoughts and stories.  Let’s face it–a person of color who collaborates with a white person in telling their story is going to be afforded more credibility by many other white people.  I don’t think that’s the way that it should be, but I recognize that we tend to look to those who are most like us when we want to know if what we’re being told is truthful.  Some people will try to deny it, but I suspect that if they looked deep down within themselves, they would see that it’s true for them, however deep it is buried.  It’s true of me–I tend to look to other moms (the ones who are most like myself inspire greater confidence), when I want to find out the truth of something.

I have a platform in communicating with other white people, simply because I myself am white.  That’s just reality.  Perhaps we’re just hard-wired as humans to trust that which looks familiar to us.  I don’t know, but I’m willing to work within that reality to try and bring awareness to some things which your average white person living in suburbia or a small town might not be aware of.

Using this blog as a platform to hopefully increase this type of awareness is not my only goal, but it is an important part.  I’d really like to share with those who’ve told me:

“I’d never go there.”

“Good luck.”

“You know there’s a lot of crime there, right?”

“You couldn’t pay me enough to move there.”

“Why not just minister right here?”

I want to share real people and their stories, so that those with doubts about the worth, validity, and saneness of going to the inner city can see that we are talking about real people who are not so very different from ourselves.  I want them to see that there are people in the inner city who need a helping hand and a listening ear every once in a while, and it’s a privilege to be their friend and confidante.  And most important to me, I want them to learn about the kids.  I have always been drawn to kids.  For as long as I can remember I’ve been the mom-type.  We have five kids of our own, and wherever we go, other children are drawn to us.  They see the kid-party central going on in our family and they want to join in.  And we’re happy to include them!  I just love investing in young people–it fuels me like nothing else!

I want all the doubters and naysayers to see the amazing kids.  And I can’t wait to meet those kids myself.  🙂

About daisyraytheclown

I'm mom to five energetic kids who keep me hopping all day long.

Leave a Reply

